Fear Of Making More Money

The feeling of making money is good, especially when the income just roll in days after days, weeks after weeks. Every time you clicked refresh and “Ka Ching”, another sale came. You feel like you are at the top of the world, and life is good, or is it?

IMG_7359
Last month, my new CPA business hit my first goal of making $10k per month. That’s a common goal for most internet marketers. $10k is a comfortable figure, especially when you are living in Singapore like me. Everyday, I’m ecstatic to see my commissions come in. I just continue to do what I’m doing now, and I’ll be alright.

However, since I’ve been in this field for many years, I know things will change very fast. If you are new to Internet Marketing, especially CPA, do take note, every offers WILL die. No offer will last forever. 3 main reasons why offers die are:
– advertisers pull out,
– competitions are so fierce in the bidding wars that your CPC>EPC,
– banner/LP blindness.

Most of the time, it was due to competitions, or advertisers stop the offer. Therefore, when you are earning money, scale fast and furious, reap whatever you can before anyone else. This is where the bulk of money is.

When I started out, I set myself a small achievable target of making $100 revenue a day. I found several small offers generating $30-70 a day for me. Add up everything and I cross my $100 day. Soon, $100 revenue becomes $100 profits. I set my next goal of achieving $10k a month. This goal is huge, but achievable. Breaking down into days, all I need is to hit $300 profits a day. I’m already hitting $100 plus daily, so what’s stopping me from hitting $300? Nothing!

There were tons of things I could do to scale up my earnings. I tracked and saved all my ideas in Evernote. Whenever I came out with something new, I would quickly saved it, no matter where I was. Soon, I had a long list of to-do items.

It was important to keep a journal of what you had learned daily, as well as things you could do. At times when I was lost, or ran out of ideas, I would refer to my to-do list for new things to test, new angles to try. These would continue to push me forward. Before I knew, I hit my $10k goal within 6 months!

Just when things seems to be fine, conversions keep coming with minimum work, I started to get worry. I was worried about not hitting $300 a day. I was stress. On one hand, I was happy to earn this income without much work. On the other hand, I was afraid this would disappeared overnight. I told myself ALL offers would die, and soon I would see my income dropped. All I had to do was to relaunch new campaigns. Easier said than done, I was unhappy.

I worked even harder than before, more anxious than ever to maintain my earnings. I knew I had to stop. This was definitely not healthy. I started to look for a solution.

The main reason I was upset was due to fear, the fear of making more money and not making anymore the next day. The fear of losing everything overnight and start all over again. I asked myself what’s wrong with that? Every Internet Marketer goes through this phase, over and over again. Top affiliates can make 6 figures a month, or even a day and their campaigns die. It was perfectly normal.

Still not convince, I listened to an audio podcast. The speaker mentioned that he too, fear to check his email as he had received tons of emails previously telling him either his leads were not of good quality and he had to stop, or they banned him. So … I wasn’t alone 🙂

I certainly do not like the volatility of CPA, and I plan to work on my old ebooks project on the side to have a stable income. This keeps my confident high and soon, I’ve overcame my fear. I’m comfortable to run more campaigns. I’m able to spend more money on testings without the fear of losing money. I’m able to let go and start enjoying life without monitoring my campaigns every minute.

Within these 7 months, I’ve grown much faster than before. I’m able to handle the pressure of work, family and business. I’m ready for more now.

So what about you? Are you afraid of losing, or have you overcome your own fear? Tell me about it in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

