My Soon-to-be Baby Girl

My baby girl has grown so much – inside her mummy’s tummy! That’s right, she’s not even born yet and I’m already blogging about her. How I love my precious daughter. Until today, she’ll be 6 months, going into the third trimester. How time flies.

Previously when I talked about my new member, she was so tiny, perhaps size of a peanut. Now she has grown to 67.27mm! The satisfaction I get now is to see my wife’s tummy getting bigger each day. I’m already very excited to welcome my newborn baby, can’t wait for the delivery date to arrive.

Baby 6 months

My Wife

Food eaten by my wife will directly feed to my baby, and therefore I restrict my wife to eat junk food. It’s both not healthy for the mum and the baby. But sometimes my wife’s appetite changed weirdly, varies from Gelato to cakes to chicken wings. Different weeks, she craved different foods. Luckily all the food are findable in Singapore.

I’ve bought some tonic for her as well. Many people are telling me the baby starts to absorb the nutrients from third trimester onwards. However, being a Kiasu dad, I already start “feeding” my wife with bird’s nest during the second trimester. Every parent will hope the best for their children.

When it comes to housework, my wife totally stop doing. Everything’s lies in the hand of the family man, and that’s me. During weekends, I hardly have time to go out with my friends anymore. I have to wash the clothes (luckily washing machine was invented), hang the clothes, iron, vacuum the floor, mop the floor, and any other house chores. Being a house-husband is indeed very tiring. You really have to do it to know.

Do I have a choice? Well I wish I have, but I know it’s tough for pregnant ladies to work. They tend to feel tired and sleepy. I’m telling myself I’ll be the maid this 9 months, after that …..

Names

I’ve not officially think of any names yet. I’ll leave it to my mom and parents-in-law. I’ll just decide on the English names. As for Chinese name, there may be some meaning behind, and I’m not an expert in this. My parents-in-law are very particular about names. They want to see the birth time, date, stars, moon, the cat to decide, so I’ll leave this tough job to them. English names are easy. Any girl names will do for me. Any names to recommend?

Books

This is my first baby and frankly speaking, I totally freak out. I have no idea how to take care of baby. How am I going to communicate with her, teach her the correct stuff and hopefully she’ll grow healthily and be a nice person.

All these may require some knowledge and experiences. Where’s the best way to find? I have some helpful friends who share their wonderful parenthood experience with me, and I really appreciate it. During my free time, I just go to the library and borrow some Fatherhood books to read. No more business books now. I’ve totally divest my world to my baby. I want to learn as much as I can before she reaches this world. So everyday, I’ll be reading bit by bit.

So far, I’ve read a very funny book – Fatherhood The Truth. It talked about how a father should react, whether you like it or not. It may not be on purpose, but the baby’s still yours, and you have the responsibility to take care of it. This book seems to be talking to me directly, and let me warn you first, the language is for adult 🙂

Along the way, I’ll share with you more interesting parenting books if I come across any.

Baby Items

This is the most surprising part. I never know baby items are so expensive until I’ve walked into a baby store. OMG! It’s day light robbery. Wrong, it’s better than robbery. Simple baby socks, clothes, towels can cost around $20 each. I just roughly walk around the baby store at Jurong Point to find out the market rate and I have to re-plan my finances again. Baby items aren’t cheap.

The merchants did their market research well and they knew parents only want the best for their babies and would not mind spending money on them. Therefore, the prices are boost many times higher. Do I have a choice? No! So I can just shut up and work harder. No doubt the items are really fanciful and nice.

Just by walking around the shop for less than 1/2 hour, my wife surrendered her first dollar. We purchase a baby cot on the spot. Guess how much? $185! I guess this baby cot can last till 2 years old before we have to get a proper bed for my daughter. Now I feel parents are suckers. You hate it, but you still buy it. The baby cot looks nice though.

Baby Cot

Gynae

I feel that I have to share all my expenses for having a baby in Singapore, to allow other parents to know roughly how much they have to prepare. I’m not those parents whom go for all high end items and check up. Mine is very normal and having a baby is really expensive in Singapore.

Since it’s already the 6th month, I’ve signed the package from my gynae. The package cost is $800, which can be signed after the fourth month. For the first 3 months, the baby is still unstable and there’s no point to sell you the package. Only after the 4th month, you can have the option to sign, which will cover you for the rest of the check ups all the way till birth, excluding medications.

Right now, from 5-6th month onwards, my wife are having iron tablets and fish oil, which is good for the baby brain. This medication alone cost around $65 per visit. So you can roughly estimate the total cost spend on gynae:

  • $120 x 3 visits (first 3 months) = $360
  • $800 package
  • $65 x 9 months = $585
  • $500 for down syndrome test during 3rd month
  • $200 for a more detailed ultrasound scan during the 4-5 month

Total = $2445

My thoughts

Although the amount is big (or small depends on how rich you are), I still find that children are wonderful. Nothing can replace or substituted the happiness your children bring to your family. Even now, before my daughter is born, my wife and I are already preparing her room, her items.

Nothing can describe the joy we are having right now, and the house will not be empty anymore. Having children really fill up our lives, keep us occupied and someone who will care for you till the end of the world.

I strongly encourage you to start a family if possible. So do you like children? Kind to share your experience with me? Just drop in the comments below. Thanks!

 

Leave a Reply

