How My eBooks Are Selling in Apr 13

How times flies. I’ve just blogged about earning by writing ebooks in March, and it’s already half way past May. If you never take action, or do anything that can build up your future daily, time really can fly and when you start noticing, it’s too late. You can’t turn back the clock anymore. Listen to me, start doing something, anything …. that can shape up the future you want.

Alright, Apr had been a very busy month for me. I’ve to take care of my housework, my new ebook business has just kick off and I need to manage the team well. Luckily, the share market is currently at the rooftop, so there’s nothing much for me to monitor. I’ll just wait for a crash before going in again. Right now, I’ll just stay put, collecting my dividends.

Updates for Lulu

As you know, I’ve self published my ebooks through Lulu.com and it’s quite a pleasant journey. Lulu enables me to distribute my ebooks across most of the platforms (PC, Mac, iTunes, B&N, etc …). As a publisher, the most important factor is to make sure your ebooks are easily accessible for everyone. However, kindle is not part of the distribution list. It’s powered by Amazon and a rival to Apple.

Image

In Apr, sales from Lulu had been good. I’ve made a total of 279 sales (including free ebooks) and a profit of $82.73. Not bad, considered zero marketing and promotion. Plus these ebooks will stay as long as Lulu is around, making me some passive cash every month.

How Exactly I Write My eBooks

Previously, I’ve mentioned that I do not write my own ebooks. So in this post, I’ll show you exactly how I do it.

1. Plan

First of all, you need to plan. As a manager of your ebooks project, you need to balance the profits and losses. Reinvest the profits well to generate more sales. That’s the rough idea.

2. Get finding topics

You have to write tons of ebooks to generate a good income. The rule of the game is simple. The more ebooks you published, the more income you’ll likely generate. You are very unlikely to be the next J.K Rowling, so forget about writing on 1 story and expect to be a billionaire. Start from small, evergreen topics.

I’m always focusing on topics that will outlast the test of time. My ebooks can be read 6 months later, 2 years later and even 10 years later. The content is evergreen and useful for different generations of people. Example of such topics are:

  • How to manage your time well.
  • How to swing your golf club
  • How to run a marathon (lastest ebook)

There are tons of topics to think of. Come out with your own list of about 20. Then you are ready for the next step, that is ….

3. Find lots of ghostwriters

I don’t write my ebooks. I hire ghostwriters to write for me. I’ll just give them the topics I want, and hire them to do the rest. At any point of time, I’ll have about 10-15 ghostwriters writing for me concurrently. The reason is simple. I want to pump out as many ebooks as possible. It’ll take 1 ghostwriter approximately 10 days to finish 1 ebook. So 1 ghostwriter can complete about 3 ebooks per month for me. With 10 ghostwriters, I can publish about 30 ebooks per month, about 1 per day. Not bad!

Of course, things are not so easy. You have to go through the contents to make sure the things they’ve written are not rubblish. I do not want to be branded as a bad writer, as these ebooks will be under my name. Therefore I’ll go through each and every single ebook before I published them. This is quality control 🙂

4. Finding these Ghostwriters

So the next question, where to find these ghostwriters? Well, the best place will be Elance and Odesk. You just sign up for a free account, then write down the requirements you’ve set for them. Once done, the writers will start bidding for your project. You can select a few and get them to start working on your ebooks.

As for payment wise, I’ll only pay them for a complete ebook. I never pay them by stages. Some writers will request to be paid 10% for the first part, then 40%, followed by the last 50% etc … I don’t do that. No ebook, no deal.

Some writers can be negotiated to be paid by the sales of ebooks, which mean that you’ll pay them royalties for every ebook you sell. If they are a good writers, and their ebooks sell well, they can in fact earn more in this way. Try negotiating with them!

5. Your Job Now

Once you’ve got your first ebook, published it! Then at mean time start looking for a new ebook deal. This process can go on and on, as long as you like. Use the profits you’ve earned from the previous sales to fund your new projects. Plant as many seeds as possible so you’ll get more fruits in future. It’s about managing your projects, funds and time.

Remember, earning money online isn’t difficult. All you need is to know how to do it, and well, do it! If you never take any action, nothing will happen. I hope this post will help you publish your very first ebook. And if you do, pls send me a copy, I’ll gladly review it!

So have your started? I’ll like to hear your plan and experience in the comments below. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

